Book Review – The Lies of Locke #Lamora, Book 1 Gentleman Bastard Series by @scottlynch78

Now to review one of my favorite books! Scott Lynch’s The Lies of Locke Lamora is perhaps the best book I have read, EVER! Whether you are into fantasy fiction, action packed adventures, or mysteries this book will please. I have heard it referred to as Oceans Eleven – this is not far from the mark in a lot of respects. Let the heaping of praise begin…

Take the age old tale of Oliver Twist. Now instead of finding Oliver a home, let’s turn him into a con-man. Not JUST a con-man, a con-artist! A con-artist with a tight knit family who all surprisingly have each others’ backs. Why would a con have another con’s back? Because they are family! Lynch does a fantastic job building the relationships between all the characters. His style of doing this is a clever back and forth between the present and the past, explaining myriad relationships and actions taken in the present with events from the past.

The language, Brilliant! On the verge of offensive, but not crossing the line, Lynch knows exactly what his reader wants. F-bombs are dropped in clusters – not to shock the reader but because that is actually how these characters speak! I was cracking up to the dialogue. Picture some young inner city kids – no respect for the law, fearful of those bigger than them but witty enough to worm their way out of almost anything. And if words fail, they have no qualms with (actually, they’ll enjoy it and brag about it later) kicking their oppressor in the sack and running down an alley as fast as possible to escape.

The story… wow! Tons of twists, gotchas, lots of tragedy, and even a small heart warming feeling at the end. Revenge, murder, honor, loyalty, a crimson tinge around your vision as you read on – I couldn’t put the book down.

I give this book a glowing 5 out of 5 stars without any reserve. I have read a lot of fantasy books, but this one seriously has been my favorite to date. Whenever anyone I meet asks me about a book to read, Lies is the first one I always recommend. I’m very glad I finally read it this past summer, and angry at myself for not reading it sooner.

You can buy it here: http://www.amazon.com/Lies-Locke-Lamora-Scott-Lynch/dp/055358894X/

One thought on “Book Review – The Lies of Locke #Lamora, Book 1 Gentleman Bastard Series by @scottlynch78

  1. […] dropped this series. I rank this as one of the best books I’ve read, right on par with The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch and The Broken Empire series by Mark Lawrence. Low Town (a.k.a. The Straight Razor Cure) is a […]

Leave a Reply

