Mazarkis Williams Tower and Knife Giveaway

Welcome visitor!

This is a first for me. I’m doing a book giveaway. Why? Because I have two extra copies of two really good books (okay, I haven’t read book 2 yet, but I have no doubt it’s awesome) that aren’t doing anyone any good sitting in a cupboard. What books you ask?

The first book is the Jo Fletcher (UK) trade hardcover edition of The Emperor’s Knife by Mazarkis Williams.


The second book is the Nightshade Books (US) trade hardcover edition of the sequel Knife Sworn. And it’s signed by the author!


Before everyone gets to asking, yes this contest is open to anywhere in the world.

So what do you have to do to win? I wanted the contest to be really simple, but I also wanted to have a little fun with it. I want your best sob story. It doesn’t even have to be true! I want to know why I should give you the book. 500 words or less posted in the comments below is your official entry. I will judge based on originality. First place winner chooses which book they want. Second place winner gets the other book. Simple!

Contest is open to entries until 9:00 am Eastern Standard Time on November 26th, 2012. Multiple entries ARE allowed and you could conceivably win BOTH novels. It all depends on you.

Comments on this blog are moderated, but will be posted as soon as I check my messages, so don’t fear if your post doesn’t show up right away.

7 thoughts on “Mazarkis Williams Tower and Knife Giveaway

  1. Living in deepest, darkest Africa really isn’t easy. Day to day life is so much removed from the norm. We put up a brave but ultimately fake façade for international tourists, since it’s easy money. The reality is far more disturbing.

    The little money we can scrape together down here goes towards food, electricity and bribes of the local militias that run riot in the country. Executions are a daily occurrence, and lawlessness is the rule, not exception. A lot of youths join the militias, seeing as they get fed and taken care of. I lost my brothers this way.

    When the militias aren’t hunting us for sport, wild animals roam the streets, free to devour any poor soul that is unfortunate enough to stray into their paths. Guns are hard to get hold of, and the bigger animals are unstoppable with a spear. Have you ever tried poking an elephant in the ass with a spear? It does not end well. Ask my father, who tried to shoo a stray bull out of our garden when I was small. We only found bits of him, man. Bits. My uncle was killed by a hippopotamus and my cousin was mauled by a lion.

    It was too horrific to show on Animal Planet.

    I’m currently typing this on an antique desktop, make and model unknown. Then I’ll get on the bicycle-powered generator and pedal my malnourished ass off for at least two hours in order to generate enough electricity to get the modem and satellite dish to work. Hopefully the message reaches you before it cuts out. My hideout is in an old, abandoned mental hospital. You can hear the screams of the tortured when you close your eyes. They speak to me in their sleep, telling me the horrors the militia will commit when they find my illegal hideout and library.

    The best way to still the voices and escape the absolute horror that is life is reading a good book. As you can imagine, bookshops are in short supply here, so old ones gets read and shared around the fire at night. We are always looking to scavenge new ones. Mazarkis Williams’ first book –The Emperor’s Knife- was found on a beach, a bit damaged but still readable. We voted it best new book we’ve found in 2012, and carved him a statuette in honour of this, but I doubt it made it to him. He had stiff competition from 1984 and Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, but prevailed in the end.

    If I can secure Knifesworn, I’ll gain respect and my food ration will increase. I might be able to impress a girl for once. The postal service does not work that well here, but we have underground smuggling rings that can get stuff in. They ask for horrific favours, but what else can we do? Please, we need your help.

    I await your rep—

  2. lfountain1 says:

    Books are expensive. But opening ones imagination to all the extraordinary, remarkable experiences by reading is priceless.

    I could go into a bookshop and buy a brand new copy, latest edition of the above books. But I won’t. Why?

    A pre-read book has more life within it as those words that touch our inmost soul, have already delighted other readers whose imaginations have also been touched by those slightly faded words that leap out at you on yellowing pages and bent covers.

    Books that have been hidden away in dusty cupboards or on the bottom shelf collecting dust, can be rehomed to someone who will love and care for them again. The characters will come alive once more to journey into that distant land, slay a mighty warrior in battle. Splinters will pierce your heart so that you bleed inwardly as the hero’s lover dies, as you explore remarkable immortal beings and new worlds where magic, myth and warmongering collide.

    The books on my bookshelf have been read, re-read and loved by myself and others. My mind has been taken on many rollercoaster’s of rides through fantastical, colorful worlds where ultimately you light that flame as you read.

    Every single book is treasured, read, re-read, shared with other readers, reviewed and talked about for many years to come. Fantasy fiction, action and epic battles, sword and sorcery, myth and legends, worlds different to ours, enemies with hearts of stone and heroes with courage and bravery. This is what I love to read and why I would like to thank you so much for this giveaway. X

    Email: lfountain1(at)hotmail(dot)co(dot)uk

    From: Miss. Lucinda Fountain

  3. pvukzahn says:

    Until recently I was working a job I loved in an environment that still made me hate it. I was depressed to the point of despair and the only thing grounding me emotionally were 15 minutes during my half hour lunch break each day.
    Fifteen minutes I spent sitting in a park, reading fantasy.
    Those were the only good minutes the whole day. No time at home after work, certainly not the peace and quiet I need to fully throw myself into a story. Not with the abusive relationship I was in.

    Things are starting to work out but I’m still not in a particularly good place and oftentimes I can’t even afford buying books, especially since I regularly give away copies to some of the people I love who are even more unfortunate than me, money-wise.

    So thank you very much for this giveaway, sharing the stories, emotions and the world contained in those books.
    May hugs and pastry cross your path many times.

    em@il: hemmer4@gmx.at

  4. Nate says:

    I have made my decision! Johann wins first prize with his sorrowful tale of the woes of living in deepest, darkest Africa. With people’s very lives at stake, I don’t know how I could not declare him the winner.

    Second place goes to Lucinda. Her plea to give the book a new life and home has not fallen on deaf ears. I know she will treasure it and pass it on when the time is right.

    And as there were so few entries I am giving away a third prize too! I should not forget the person who wished hugs and pastries on me. I will be contacting hemmer4 to send them an e-copy of their choice via a Baen ebooks Gift Card for 10 dollars!

    Thank you all for entering my little contest. I will be in contact with each of you for mailing information. Enjoy!

  5. lfountain1 says:

    Recived my book ‘The Emperor’s Knife’ By Mazarkis Williams. Thank you so much x

Leave a Reply

